President Trump bans travel from Europe’s Schengen zone to the US for 30 days

US President Donald Trump addresses the nation from the Oval Office about the widening coronavirus crisis on March 11, 2020 in Washington, DC. Since December 2019, the coronavirus (COVID-19) has infected more than 109,000 people and killed more than 3,800 people in 105 countries. (Photo by Doug Mills-Pool/Getty Images)

All travel from the 26 countries in the Schengen border-free zone to America is to be suspended for 30 days after US President Donald Trump announced a widespread ban in an effort to contain the spread of the COVID-19 coronavirus. The move does not apply to US citizens returning home and flights from the UK and Ireland, which are outside the Schengen zone, are exempt from the embargo, which becomes effective “on midnight, Friday” [March 13, Eastern Daylight Time].

A presidential proclamation, made soon after the President’s speech, explained that the travel ban applies to anyone who had been within the European Union’s Schengen border-free area in the 14 days before their arrival in the US.

The President described the move as “strong but necessary”. He initially said the embargo would also “apply to the tremendous amount of trade and cargo” coming from Europe into the US, but later tweeted that trade would “in no way be affected”.