American Airlines to suspend services as CARES funding expires

(Photo: American Airlines)

The American Airlines Group has announced it will suspend services to 15 destinations as a result of low demand and the expiration of the air service requirements associated with the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act.

The airline said this is the first step in re-evaluating its network and it expects to make additional schedule changes in the coming weeks.

The suspensions begin on October 7. Currently, these changes are only in place for the October schedule period, which runs through until November 3.

The airports involved are: Del Rio, Texas (DRT); Dubuque, Iowa (DBQ); Florence, S.C (FLO); Greenville, N.C (PVG); Huntingdon, W. Va, (HTS); Joplin, Mo (JLN); Kalamazoo/Battle Creek, MI (AZO); Lake Charles, La, (LCH); New Haven, Con, (HVN); New Windsor, NY, (SWF); Roswell, NM; (ROW); Sioux City, Iowa (SUX); Springfield, Ill, (SPI); Stillwater, Ok, (SWO) and Williamsport, Pa (IPT).

The airline said it will continue to re-assess its plans for these and other markets as an extension of the Payroll Support Program remains under deliberation.

It added that its full, updated October schedule will be released August 29, and it anticipates releasing its updated November schedule by late-September.